Changes

I held an image of you in my memory;
full of life and full of faults;
imperfectly human; extraordinarily you;
and you were smiling.

The edges of that image yellowed over time.
There were lines across your smile
from folding you away in my thoughts.
And now?

I find your face has faded.

The laughter in your eyes was a lie,
the jokes on your tongue were falsehoods.
You’d built a wall no one could break but
it became the breaking of you.

I see you now and the spark has gone.

Your spark.

Your face is missing something.

There is an absence, a void.

Something undeniably you isn’t you anymore.

3 thoughts on “Changes

  1. thereluctantpoet says:

    You did a fantastic presentation on this piece! I loved the way you started and watched as it all rolled down hill into a wall and crashed! Boom! That was a great journey/ride. You were very masterful in your words but also in your descriptions! I love this line – “There were lines across your smile, from folding you away in my thoughts”. I don’t think I have ever seen or heard the keeping of a memory express in such a creative and imaginative way! Super poem!!

    Thanks for following me! I am looking forward to following you and read other stunning poems like this one!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

