Something clever

I had my hands clasped together behind my back as I watched The Warehouse burn.
I inhaled the smoke and felt nauseous. This place had been like a home to me and now it was all ash and cinders. Helena was at my left side, tears filling her eyes. I managed to croak out a cliché.

“I never meant for any of this to happen.” Helena put a hand on my shoulder and squeezed gently.

“I know. But it’s out of our hands now.”

“Is it? I sniggered and shook my head.

“Yes, it is.” Helena turned me sharply towards her but I couldn’t look her in the eyes. “John, don’t do anything . . . stupid.”

“What, me? Wouldn’t dream of it.” I whispered.

“So what’s that behind your back?”

I looked at her then. I’d like to think that I simply just smiled but I remember that Helena recoiled from me. I know now that must have look like a mad man.

“Something clever.”

I know I was laughing like a mad man.

Work in progress. Snippet from Exorcist.

Leave a Reply

