The little things

I found this in an old writing folder.
It’s about three/four years old now but still relevant I think.
I’ve done minimal edits to adjust spelling and line structure because I don’t want to ruin the ‘feel’ of the piece which was roughly jotted in a notebook at the time it all occurred.

****

Standing at the bus stop waiting to get home.
It feels like I have been here forever, yet at the same time, I don’t want to go.

I don’t know why it is but everything is beautiful today.

The sun isn’t shining, it’s the normal Birmingham grey,
yet I feel enlightened, I feel something has changed,
because I am looking at everyone else and smiling their way.

There’s a mom with three kids and they are driving her around the bend
doing what kids do (what else can you expect?).
One of them says something that just makes my heart sing:
“Mom, bad guys can’t ever win,
they’re not allowed to”.

I didn’t catch all of it, just that segment,
but it made me smile because of the innocence.
The fragment of speech from that five year old’s tongue
made me realise how blissfully unaware she was of life doing you wrong.

There’s an old man singing, no one joins in.
but he grins, showing that he has hardly any teeth
and I grin because of how happy he is.

And there’s an elderly couple sat holding hands.
They look at one another like teenagers would
and kiss under the shelter, not caring who looks.

There’s a guy on his phone, eyes sort-of intense looking,
concentrating as he texts something.
And then I see him conceal a laugh as he receives a call –
from serious to jolly in no time at all.

There’s a blonde woman looking terribly impatient,
(she’s probably sick of waiting).
And then from the other side of the road somebody calls.
The blonde woman waves, smiles and runs across to talk.

There’s a young man, headphones blaring,
enjoying his music, and staring at nothing in particular.
Head bobbing and hood up, but it’s nothing sinister.

There’s a young girl reading a book.
She’s turning the pages so rapidly, (she can’t look away),
as though at any moment the words might disappear from the page.

And then there is me.

Alone and watching.

I’m peckish so I pull out a snack from my bag
and I smile as I read the corny joke on the side,
suddenly aware that
you can find good somewhere when times are bad,
that there is happiness even when things are sad;

if you just hold on,

if you just open you eyes.

Just hold on to something –
the things children say,
the song you’ve had stuck in your head for days,
the hand of someone who will never lead you astray,
a phone call from a friend that makes you laugh,
someone you haven’t seen in ages suddenly crossing your path,
a good song with a good beat,
a good book that glues you to your seat,
or just a lame joke on a penguin chocolate bar.

The little things that leave a smile on your face
no matter how grey the clouds are.

Leave a Reply

