Reflections

woodsreflection

You know the feeling when you sprint up the stairs in the pitch black of night, terrified something is following you and your heart just, stops? The thing you are running from is me.

I am behind you.

I am the shadow; the flicker of movement in the corner of your eye. I am the shape you see in the dark.

I am here, I’ve always been here.

I am the one that scolds your inner child. I am the memory of the people that scolded you as a child. I am all of the people that got away. I am all of the people that left you in the rain. I am the one that told you you weren’t good enough.

I am every bad, gut-punching feeling.

I’m the one who laughs in your ear; the one that breathes down your neck. I am the power cut that takes out all the lights. I am the wind that snuffs out that last candle.

I am the monster under your bed.

I am the night time; the endless winter; the howling wolf; the razor blades; the nightmares; the headaches . . .

You made me out of the darkness, and now, I am coming to take out the lights.

Leave a Reply

