Yesterday’s laughter

It is on days like these when I am wont to wallow in the yesterdays,
the golden age.

As I glance from side to side I witness the tears willingly cried
and the ones some try to hide.

We celebrate a life that lived and lived well.
Our hearts ache as we say our farewell.

I cast my mind back
to the not so distant past.
I see your glasses,
the glint in your eyes,
and then I envision you laughing.

It rolls up from your belly to your throat
and a wide smile dances on your lips . . .

I find it difficult to go on with this;

to find the right words
and so I shall simply end with:
you will be missed.

One thought on “Yesterday’s laughter

Leave a Reply

