poetry · writing

Scorched & Scorned

Abolish my lungs and then send me to sleep. 
You can do what you want. I won’t feel a thing.
Grind my bones into dust to make your own bread.
Take all that you can until nothing else is left.

My mind is a heaven only I see.
My soul aches to fly; it calls to be free.  
My heart is mine to keep and give alone.
My body, made red, takes its false throne.

Stoke the fire. Blot the night again.
Use your smoke and mirrors to fight my reign.
Fingers parted as we part our ways.
Oblivion never stays the same.

Destroy all my darlings.
They are but thieves and pawns.
Watch me rise sparkling.
I am your blood red dawn.

All this hell you unleashed
to ruin well what you sowed?

Too little.
Too late.

I will collect what I’m owed.  


Image by Karen Nadine from Pixabay

2 thoughts on “Scorched & Scorned

Leave a comment